Wang prevails in Qatar Masters playoff

Titleist golf ball loyalist Jeung-hun Wang relied upon his Pro V1x golf ball to capture the Qatar Masters with a birdie on the first hole of a three-man playoff.

Wang, at just 21 years and 144 days, became the youngest winner in the tournament’s 20-year history.

It was Wang’s third victory in just 29 European Tour appearances (Trophee Hassan II, AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open), tying for most victories on the tour by a South Korean golfer.

“This feels really fantastic for me,” said Wang after the win. “I'm so happy. I've really got a lot of confidence right now, I just want to play another tournament.”

With the victory, the 2016 European Tour Rookie of the Year also vaults into the OWGR top 50. If he can remain there until the end of March, he’ll also earn an invitation to his first Masters Tournament.

“When I was young, I really wanted to play the Masters,” Wang said. “I always imagined that I would play there. Maybe now I have a chance. I'm so happy about it. That's my dream tournament.”

Titleist golf ball loyalist Joakim Lagergren (Pro V1x) set the clubhouse lead and playoff number at 16-under-par 272 when he closed with a 6-under-par 66.

Wang topped a leaderboard that included eight Titleist golf ball loyalists among the top 10 finishers.

Titleist brand ambassador Mike Lorenzo-Vera (New Pro V1) and Titleist golf ball loyalist Thomas Aiken (Pro V1) missed the playoff by a single stroke, while Titleist brand ambassador Rafa Cabrera-Bello (Pro V1x) as well as Titleist golf ball loyalists Nacho Elvira (New Pro V1) and Jordan Smith (Pro V1) finished another shot back.

Titleist Brand Ambassador Nathan Kimsey (Pro V1x) tied for 9th at 13-under-par.



 Titleist was the overwhelming field favorite in golf balls with 95 players trusting a Pro V1 or Pro V1x, nearly eight times the nearest competitor with 12.

The win was the fourth by Titleist golf ball loyalists through the first six events of the European Tour’s 2016-17 season.

Wang follows Tommy Fleetwood (New Pro V1x), Graeme Storm (New Pro V1x) and Brandon Stone (New Pro V1) into the Titleist winners’ circle on the European Tour.