I was playing in a local Stroke Play event & we were paired (drawn) as foursomes. 1 gentleman had been struggling off the tee so after the 4th hole he started laying his driver down even with the ball shaft (grip) pointing away from the ball looking at it then pick it up & address the ball. I didn't see much improvement in his tee shots (accuracy that is) but once we got to the 13th hole of the round one of our foursome called a tournament official stating he was using a training aid while playing to line up his ball, body & shots?
I was curious why he did it, some said he was losing to this guy & that is why (according to some people who knew him) he did it. Anyway the tournament official gave the gentleman a 2 stroke penalty on the 13th hole but did not assess any penalty on the previous holes because no one had called it to their attention.
He never stood over his driver addressing the ball, then picked up his driver, he always laid it down stood at the butt end of the driver (grip end) looking toward the ball then picked it up & stepped up to address the ball. He never did it on any other shot just off the tee. we didn't have anything in the special rules about training aides just about the new fairway sod they were placing around the course and was marked G.U.R.
I personally didn't give it much thought if it was or wasn't a violation nor did the other gentleman in our group. The guy that called still lost by 2 strokes to him.
None of us played well enough to get some change back.